Visitor Information

Whether you're a lifelong native of Breckinridge County, or a first-time visitor, you will continue to find new experiences. You can participate in various festivals and events , relax and spend some time with family, tour our historic museums and downtowns, or simply sharpen your golf swing on our beautiful courses.

With Rough River State Park in our backyard, the possibilities for boating, fishing, water skiing, and swimming abound.

We have hundreds of untouched acres for outdoor enthusiasts, plus shopping, history, parades, and more!

Trace Abraham Lincoln's footsteps across Breckinridge County to Cloverport, where he and his family crossed the Ohio River.

Once you've been to Breckinridge County, you'll find it hard to believe you'll ever want to leave! Let us be the first to invite you back.

Call, email, or write for information about how you can Discover Breckinridge County! See our contact information.

Breckinridge County is located in north central Kentucky, 65 miles southwest of Louisville and 45 miles east of Ownsboro on US 60.

We are bordered by Hancock, Ohio, Meade, Hardin, and Grayson Counties in Kentucky, and Perry County in Indiana. The Ohio River is to our north.

Click here to view a printable map.


  • Population 19,225 (2006 estimate)
  • Housing Units (2005): 10,273
  • Number of Households (2000):7,324
  • Persons per Household: 2.51
  • Median value of owner-occupied housing units (2000): $64,600
  • Median household income (2004): $33,586
  • Mean travel time to work (minutes), workers age 16+ (2000): 32.7


Breckinridge County was formed in 1800. It is located in the Pennyrile region of the state. The Pennyrile region of Kentucky stretches from the Land Between the Lakes, in the west, across the state to the Pottsville Escarpment in the east. It is a Mississippian plateau with a large karst region that includes Mammoth Cave. The elevation in the county ranges from 383 to 920 feet above sea level. The region takes its name from the pennyroyal (Hedeoma puligiodes).
The Breckinridge County seat is Hardinsburg.


Breckinridge County has three incorporated cities: Hardinsburg, Irvington, and Cloverport